TEEN DRIVER LAW



Previous Law

Learner's Permit

- Issued at 16 years of age
- Must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older
- At least 50 hours of training

Junior Driver's License

- No driving between 11 p.m. 5 a.m.
- No more passengers than seat belts
- May receive a Regular Driver's License at 18 years of age or if you have:
 - Passed a driver training course approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Education
 - Had 12 months without a crash or driving violation conviction
 - Consent of your parent, guardian, person in loco parentis or spouse, who is at least 18 years of age



Visit our website at www.dmv.state.pa.us

Current Law (As of December 27, 2011)

Learner's Permit

- Issued at 16 years of age
- Must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older
- At least 65 hours of training, 10 must be at night, five (5) must be in bad weather

Junior Driver's License

- No driving between 11 p.m. 5 a.m.
- For the first six (6) months, no more than one (1) passenger under the age of 18 unless:
 - They are in your immediate family and live with you or
 - Your parent or guardian is in the vehicle
- After six (6) months, you may have up to three (3) passengers who are under the age of 18; however, if you are involved in a crash or convicted of a driving violation, the passenger restriction of only one (1) passenger will be reinstated until you have a Regular Driver's License
- May receive a Regular Driver's License at 18 years of age or if you have:
 - Passed a driver training course approved by the Pennsylvania Department of Education
 - Had 12 months without a crash or driving violation conviction
 - Consent of your parent, guardian, person in loco parentis or spouse, who is at least 18 years of age

Seat Belt Requirements

Drivers and occupants in a vehicle who are under the age of 18 must wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt, and children under the age of eight must be securely fastened in a child restraint system. Failure to comply with the new law's seat belt provisions is a primary offense, meaning that a driver can be pulled over and cited solely for that violation.