Begin Main Content Area

Paint the Plow


Paint the Plow is a community outreach program where students are invited to paint a PennDOT snow plow blade with original artwork to represent their individual school. In addition to being visible when in full service during the winter-weather months, the blades will be used within the school's community to enhance public awareness, promote safety, and foster greater appreciation of both PennDOT and the school's art program.

The program is open to high schools and career technical schools in each of PennDOT District 2's nine counties: Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Elk, Juniata, McKean, Mifflin, and Potter.

The plow blades have been painted with a winter safety message and will be mounted to a plow truck that services the respective school district once entries are judged. A panel of judges will vote on the plows in each county. A "Fan Favorite" will be determined via a Facebook campaign that is open to the public. Voting is open through noon on Friday, November 2, and members of the public can search for their school's County and vote for their favorite plow by visiting the PennDOT Facebook page.

This is the third year District 2 has held the competition and the first year it was open to all nine counties. There are 16 school districts participating. The 2018 theme is "Know Before You Go."

For more information on the program please contact Marla Fannin at or by calling 814-765-0423.

Schools participating in 2018 are as follows:

Centre County: Bellefonte High School, Penns Valley High School, St. Joseph's Academy;

Clearfield County: Clearfield Area High School, DuBois Central Catholic, DuBois Area High School;

Clinton County: Central Mountain High School;

Elk County: Elk County Catholic High School;

Juniata County: Juniata High School, East Juniata High School;

McKean County: Smethport High School;

Mifflin County: Mifflin High School;

Potter County: Austin High School, Coudersport High School, Galeton High School;