Editor's Note: The DUI ignition interlock portion has been updated to reflect the upcoming change to the law that will take effect in August 2017. Under the forthcoming change, those convicted of a first-time offense with a blood-alcohol concentration of .10 percent or higher will be mandated to use ignition interlock for at least a year.
Harrisburg, PA – Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) Secretary Leslie S. Richards and State Police Commissioner Tyree Blocker today urged drivers to review and obey driver safety laws that have recently been amended or passed through the legislature.
"This year we're educating the public about highway safety laws that were recently passed or updated and how they impact drivers," Richards said. "We're partnering with State Police to raise awareness through education, social media, and outreach with our safety partners."
Ahead of the state's Highway Safety Law Awareness week, which runs from February 19-25, the agencies advised drivers of the following updates and safety reminders:
- The "Child Passenger Safety" law update, which went into effect in August 2016, states that children are required to be buckled into a rear-facing car seat until they are age 2 or meet the maximum weight or height requirements set by the manufacturer of the seat.
- "Daniel's Law," honoring motorcyclist Daniel Gallatin, who died in 2013, was signed in January 2017. It increases the penalty for texting while driving resulting in serious bodily injury or death.
- The "Ignition Interlock Law" affects first-time or subsequent DUI offenders. It requires drivers to install an Ignition Interlock system in every car they operate or lease for more than a year. Each system costs $1,000. The law will go into effect in August 2017.
- "Pedestrian Safety Laws at unsignalized intersections" state that a driver of a vehicle emerging from or entering an alley, building, private road, or driveway shall yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian approaching on any sidewalk extending across the alley, building entrance, road, or driveway. Failure to do so could lead to a fine and three points on the driver's license. It is illegal to overtake or pass a vehicle yielding to a pedestrian within a crosswalk. Pedestrians are also required to use the sidewalk and marked crosswalks where provided. When there is no sidewalk, pedestrians should walk along the shoulder or the road's edge as far away from traffic as possible and in the opposite direction of traffic.
"New laws like these are designed to enhance the public's safety on Pennsylvania's roadways," Colonel Blocker said. "It's important that the public be aware of these enhancements, which can go a long way towards keeping drivers and their passengers safe while behind the wheel."
Join the conversation on social media using #PATrafficLaw on Twitter and Facebook.
For more information on highway safety, visit www.PennDOT.gov/safety.
MEDIA CONTACT: Ashley Schoch, PennDOT, 717-783-8800; Adam Reed, PSP, 717-783-5556
# # #